Recovering compensation and getting the medical care you need after a rideshareaccident in Florida can be confusing. The team at 1-800-HURT-911 can help connectyou to both a lawyer and a medical professional to help you get your life back. Call 1-800-HURT-911 today.
We have over 20 years of experience
Contact us today
for a free consultation
Contact us today for
a free consultation
With the convenience of any ridesharing service, whether it be Uber, Lyft, or another provider, comes risk. If you get into an accident as a passenger of one of these services, you face the frustrating riddle of who will pay your medical costs and other damages resulting from your injuries.
1-800-HURT-911 is a legal referral service that will connect you with a personal injury lawyer who has worked with rideshare accident cases and has kept up-to-date on emerging insurance laws for rideshare services. And our service doesn’t end there. 1- 800-HURT-911 also will link you with a doctor who can diagnose, treat, and document your injuries in a way that will help your lawyer recover your damages.
Insurance Requirements for Rideshare Drivers
Uber and Lyft drivers are required to carry personal auto insurance, just like any other driver. In the state of Florida, drivers must carry auto insurance with a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
However, in many cases, an insurance company will refuse to pay for an accident that occurred while someone was driving for hire. Both Uber and Lyft, as well as other rideshare companies, provide additional insurance for their drivers to fill coverage gaps.
Generally, the compensation available to you depends on what the rideshare driver was doing at the time of the collision. If the accident occurs as the driver is on their way to pick up a customer or during a trip, the rideshare company will pay up to $1,000,000 to cover passenger injuries.
Proving Negligence and Establishing Liability
Duty of Care
The defendant owed you a duty of care to take reasonable steps to keep you free from harm or injury.
This breach of duty caused the accident that injured you.
Breach of Duty
The defendant did not fulfill their duty of care.
You sustained physical injuries, as well as emotional and economic damages as a result of the accident.
When we connect you with a personal injury lawyer, you can rest assured that they will understand the importance of establishing all the required criteria to make your case stand strong in front of insurance companies and/or a court of law. Call 1-800-HURT-911 to be connected with a lawyer today.
Holding a Rideshare Company Liable
Florida Statute Section 624.748 stipulates that rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft are not required to provide riders with the same heightened duties of care that other transportation providers (taxis, buses, limousines, airlines) owe their passengers. This can make it more difficult for the average person to hold a rideshare driver or company liable.
However, in cases where a rideshare accident occurs because of the driver’s negligence, you may be able to sue the rideshare company for your damages.
1-800-HURT-911 will put you in touch with a lawyer who will study any and all options for holding your rideshare company liable. Your lawyer will check the driver’s driving record, previous rider complaints logged via the app or in some other accessible forum, vehicle maintenance records and safety inspection reports, and in-vehicle monitoring reports. Call 1-800-HURT-911 today.
Damages You May Recover From a Rideshare Accident
Although each case is different, the types of damages you may recover for your rideshare accident include the following:
- Doctors’ and surgeons’ fees (past, future, and ongoing)
- Emergency transport
- Prescription medicines
- Physical therapy
- Lost wages and benefits
- Diminished future potential earnings
- Replacement services
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
How a Lawyer Can Help You Recover Damages for Your Rideshare Accident
A lawyer can advocate for you and navigate the rather murky waters of rideshare accident litigation. 1-800-HURT-911 can connect you with a lawyer who can blow past the recovery obstacles put up by rideshare companies and get you the compensation you deserve.
Also, our referral service will put you in contact with a medical practitioner who can diagnose, treat, and document your injuries in a way that helps your lawyer collect the maximum compensation for your injuries.
1-800-HURT-911 is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice.
1-800-HURT-911 is a legal and medical referral service that refers prospective patients to participating
lawyers, medical and chiropractic physicians. A listing of the participating providers can be found
on the Participating Providers page by clicking on the link above.
Copyrights © 2019 1-800-HURT-911. All rights reserved